Why Living a Balanced Life is a Bad Idea

Posted: September 6, 2011 in Christian, Christian living, Life, Time Management

Recently, I’ve heard several people use the term “balanced approach” when they talk about their life and Christian walk with God. They’re referring to the many other things going on in their lives and the mission of Christ is among the “many.” This sounds helpful, but is it? Is it biblical?

Listen to  Jesus:

Matthew 10:35–39 (ESV)

35 For I have come to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law. 36 And a person’s enemies will be those of his own household. 37 Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. 38 And whoever does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. 39 Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.

Luke 9:57–62 (ESV)

57 As they were going along the road, someone said to him, “I will follow you wherever you go.” 58 And Jesus said to him, “Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head.” 59 To another he said, “Follow me.” But he said, “Lord, let me first go and bury my father.” 60 And Jesus said to him, “Leave the dead to bury their own dead. But as for you, go and proclaim the kingdom of God.” 61 Yet another said, “I will follow you, Lord, but let me first say farewell to those at my home.” 62 Jesus said to him, “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for the kingdom of God.”

Does this sound like a “balanced” approach to life? Does it sound safe or “normal”? The temptation to make Jesus and His Mission one of the many things in our life (“balanced” approach”)  instead of “the” thing in our life is a real one that we must avoid.

Living the so-called “balanced” life means the cross we’ve been called to carry is one of the many pieces of luggage we’re trying to juggle because we wouldn’t want to get too crazy, radical or fanatical and make it all about Him.

This doesn’t mean we drop all of our responsibilities and stop working and taking care of our families. What it does mean is that we need to take a closer look at our responsibilities, time and resources and ask, “Is what I’m investing in helping move Christ’s mission forward or is it a distraction?”

Thoughts?

Comments
  1. colebradburn says:

    Great post, and initially I was not on board (admittedly, I read a little too fast and missed where you said the talked about balance in relation to their Christian walk with God).

    I do think balance is crucial when it comes to things like work/family/play/create/learn. If you don’t balance the earthly hats you wear, you cease to grow in one of those areas. You have to be intentional about time spent with your family, your career, having fun, and being a life-long learner, and I believe that it done by being disciplined and balanced with your time.

    However, and this is a big however, earthly hats are completely insignificant when compared to your heart for Jesus and aligning your life with His will. He is the one thing that trumps all else, and if that is true in your life, then your life will be devoted to Him.

    I can lead a well-balanced life when it comes to things that are priorities 2-10….but I will bet the farm on my priority #1, my savior Jesus Christ.

Add New Comment

